top of page


There are several types of Mahogany: Honduran and West Indian or Cuban. Honduran Mahogany is also known as Honduras Mahogany, American Mahogany, Genuine Mahogany, Big-Leaf Mahogany and Brazilian Mahogany. The tree grows from Southern Mexico to central South America and is also grown in plantations as well as on parts of the Gold and Ivory coasts of Africa.

Mahogany’s heartwood colour can vary from a pale pinkish brown to a darker reddish brown and its colour tends to darken with age. Mahogany also exhibits an optical

phenomenon known as chatoyancy which causes the colour to shift based on the eye’s reflection.



Mahogany is prized for its beauty, durability and colour. It is very easy to work and works with tools and machines well, except for sections with figured grain, which can tear out or chip during machining. It sands very easily and turns, glues, stains, and finishes well. Not to forget it is resistant to termites.


Mahogany is vulnerable to insects (other than termites).


Mahogany is used for boat building, furniture, cabinetry, turned objects, veneers, musical instruments and carving.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page